Out Of Bounds {A Photoshop Effect}

There is a photoshop technique called “out of bounds” that I had tried in the past, but was never quite satisfied with my results.

UNTIL I found a great tutorial on You Tube by Gavin Hoey (I love his tutorials – he has a very easy to understand way of explaining things).

So, I tried it again – using a photo that I wouldn’t have posted here otherwise, but I thought it made a great image for this effect.
Baseball OOB 2

Click HERE to see a larger version.

Anyone else ever try this effect?  I would love to see some more examples – feel free to post links in the comments.  OR, if you see this and want to try it, feel free to come back and share!

Thanks for stopping by!

- Holly

20 thoughts on “Out Of Bounds {A Photoshop Effect}

  1. Good try :)

    I haven’t tried this myself, but I’m a big fan of the Gavin Hoey videos, especially the 15 min photo challenges. You should check those out, they are full of interesting ideas and techniques.

    • Thanks, Robin! ;) I just keep an eye out for anything that looks cool, and then try to find a good tutorial online to teach me how to do it! What good is Photoshop if you don’t try everything, right?? ;)

  2. Thanks for sharing your photo as well as the link to the tutorial. I’m only familiar with a few techniques in Photoshop and am usually too lazy to experiment with tools beyond the ones I already know. Maybe one of these days I’ll be motivated enough to try some of these effects myself. I really have no excuses… ;)

Leave a Reply

